top of page
Post: Blog2 Custom Feed
  • Writer's pictureathereaderofbooks

Are Pirate Books Worth Your Gold?

I have always been intrigued by pirate stories and sought them out in various forms of media. In this blog post I will be talking about three (including one series) that I've read and my judgement on them. This list is in order of when I read each book (or series).


The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by AVI


Warning: I read this book three years ago.

What could be seen as my debut in pirate literature is The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle. Let me be frank: I've read this book twice. Once as a personal reading book and once as a school guided read. I obviously loved this more the first time, but in the long run of things I would say that if you were of this age range I would recommend it. I think it is a great way to start in this realm of books and the main character is extremely interesting and personable.


The Daughter of the Pirate King duology by Tricia Levenseller


Yes. I really do think this book series is worth it. The enemies to lovers romance, the pirates and the overall amazing female main character completely win me over when it comes to these books. I think that these are amazing YA pirate fantasy books and I think that they are quite enjoyable. (I had a great time when I read them.)


To Kill A Kingdom by Alexandra Christo


No. This is definitely not worth it. The storyline is interesting, the characters are amusing but it's just not it. I will not be re-reading this, I will not be recommending it and I will not think about it again. A mindless read? Yes. A memorable read? No.


So there you have it. Those are my two cents when it comes to pirate books. I hope that you have enjoyed this post and feel free to recommend me a pirate book that you personally enjoyed! (Also, let's pretend that this isn't the first post in 7 days.. I have been extremely busy with school and I'm trying to claw my way back to insanity ;))

26 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2021~ The year where I ditched my blog

I'm ending this year with a yearly summary (including a top 10, bottom 5, and plans for 2022) on the blog that died when the summer started and I began to float in doing nothingness. So, I do admit th

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page